University of Wisconsin–Madison

CSAC Fellows Program

One of the objectives of The Center for the Study of the American Constitution (CSAC) is to extend the reach of our expertise and resources to a broad range of communities beyond the university. To that end we want to identify teachers who have a proven record of commitment to teaching as a career. Our efforts with this program are to honor teachers and enhance their content knowledge and pedagogical skills in the Founding Period.  Each year CSAC will select six teachers to serve as CSAC Fellows. Any teacher who is currently under contract to teach in any school, public or private, is eligible to apply. CSAC Fellows are eligible for the fellowship upon reapplication.

Benefits of being a CSAC Fellow

  • A cash award of $150 for traveling expenses
  • A three day seminar specifically designed for CSAC Fellows, room and board provided
  • Access to conferences hosted by other UW outreach organizations
  • Opportunities to network with other teachers
  • A Wisconsin Historical Society Membership
  • A set of reference books

2018 Program

Announcements regarding the 2018-19 CSAC Fellows Program will be in the fall of 2018. The seminar will likely be held in early December 2018.

Past CSAC Fellows


Angela Bazan Deerfield High School
Aaron Callender South Milwaukee High School
Tammy Johnson Kettle Moraine High School
Matt Scherbarth Mukwonago High School
Mary Talsky Pius XI High School
Chad Thompson DC Everest


Aaron Callender South Milwaukee High School
Tim Huebner Shiocton Middle School
David Olson Madison Memorial High School
Paul Stellpflug Oshkosh West High School
Mary Talsky Pius XI High School
Michael Vuolo Kettle Moraine High School


Audrey Damon-Wynne McFarland High School
Colleen Kollasch Deforest High School
Mary Silva Milwaukee Public Schools
Joe Schmidt Peshtigo Middle/High School
Jennifer Wachowski Mishicot High School


Kathryn Bartel St. Mary’s Springs Academy
John Franco Waukegan High School
Lori Keough St. Charles High School
Vince Kube Columbus High School
David Moon Reedsburg High School
Pam Smith Florence High School


Val Crofts Milton High School
Anna-Lisa Dahlgren Marshall High School
Kevin Gleeson Thomas More High School
Rick Kelm Ripon High School
Berry Mellen Sturgeon Bay High School
Ryan Mussack Sauk Prairie High School
 Sarah Pica  Cameron High School
 Steven Stary  Notre Dame High School


Evan Abt Heritage Christian High School
Benjamin Hubing Greendale High School
Steven LeBre Heritage Christian High School
Bob Spice DePere High School
Peter Sehloff Fox Valley Lutheran High School


Nick Adams Madison East High School
Patrick Coffey Brookfield East High School
Patrick Idstein St. Thomas More High School
Dan Kelly West Des Moines High School
Tim McLean St. Francis High School