Maps of the Ratification of the Constitution

Between December 1787 and May 1790 each of the original thirteen states called a convention—or conventions, in the case of North Carolina—to consider the Constitution. The maps below illustrate the final votes for and against the Constitution in each of these state conventions. Though not one of the original thirteen states, Vermont also ratified the Constitution in a state convention. The map detailing its ratification is also available below.

Updated versions of these maps are now available for purchase at our online bookstore either for an individual state or as a portfolio containing all sixteen maps.